Sustainability within the food industry.

After reading many opinions and doing some research on the views of sustainability throughout this weekend, I now have a closer in depth look at this important topic and the actions that we as society have made towards being wasteful individuals. To my knowledge sustainability is a view which represents the capability of maintaining our enviroment and society throughtout time. The big picture is to maintain a steady level in our enviroment both ecological and socially without exhausting natural resources or causing sever ecological damage to our world. Sustainability can also be viewed as the development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to satisfy their own needs. Working as a server in the food and beverage industry for the past six years, I have seen and I am also at fault of wasting products that could in fact be recycled or used to a minimal. On a weekly basis I see people always asking for the extra mile when it pertains to needing extra napkins, plastic silverware, extra take out bags, togo cups, extra kids’ menus and crayons. I feel that most of the time these necessities that guests feel they need are not necessarily needed, eighty percent of the time I see many of the bussers throwing these objects away. It is sad to see all of that paper being wasted, however we live in a society where we have come to the realization where more is better, and in fact less is more in my opinion. There is no need to ask for extra wasteful objects if they are not being used. This is a major wasteful issue in the restaurant buisness an due to this we are wasting trees and plastic due to all of the objects we are giving away. If we as diners learned to eat out and use the bare minimum when it comes to the whole dine out experience we would be doing our part in sustaining these little but also important aspects of the enviroment. This is a very important aspect in my opinion on how sustainability could be practiced within the food industry.

The online video presentation by John Seely Brown pin pointed a very important aspect of learning and maintaining vital information for successful students. His example of great learning experiences was in my view the whole image of “learning by doing”, this is a perfect example of Cal Poly Pomona. Here at a polytechnical university, as students in our degree of study we all learn the importance of school by applying the ideas we learn through handson teaching. This has always been a perfect example of learning and obtaining new information in my opinion. I feel that when we as students learn something in the classroom it is always best to practice and appy the theories in our everyday lives. This is a major reason why I decided to attend the Collins College of Hospitality Managment here at Cal Poly Pomona because I really felt it was important to learn and understand the concept of restaurant managment through actually practicing my skills in the restaurant series that is needed to graduate. Mr. Brown also mentions that students must “learn to be” and sequentially we must “learn about” this is another process of the handson teaching. I also found that when Mr. Brown spoke about students success develops from their own responsibilities to form study groups and study as teams I felt that this theory was now justifying the importance of learning how to form study groups and actually take advantage of them. I also learned from Mr. Brown that online material has many advantages towards students’ success. I agree with Mr. Brown I feel that over the years of my education, many of my studies has transformed onto online discussions, quiz taking, power point presentations, and now online blogging. Our future education will depend heavily on online access and material, and it is importance that we take hold of it now.

Leave a comment